Templeton Guide|Friday, July 19, 2019
You are here: Home » Top Stories » Templeton Area Advisory Group elects leaders

    Templeton Area Advisory Group elects leaders 


    The Templeton Area Advisory Group, the organization designated by San Luis Obispo County to provide feedback and recommendations to the county board of supervisors, the planning commission, the planning department and other agencies that request community input on land use and planning matters that affect Templeton, held an election on March 5 from 5-8 p.m. at the Templeton Community Services District Board Room, located at 420 Crocker Street. The election was administered by the League of Women Voters and every registered voter in the Templeton Unified School District boundaries was eligible to vote.

    TAAG election results

    There were 59 valid votes cast out of an estimated 5336 registered voters at the TAAG election. The top three vote getters will be seated as directors. Candidates placing fourth and fifth will be alternates.

    • William Pelfrey – 31 votes
    • Bob Bejarano – 26 votes
    • Wayne Gretter – 22 votes
    • Jeff Debrish- 21 votes (1st alt)*
    • Cecil Martinez – 21 votes (2nd alt)*
    • Rex Swan – 20 votes
    • Phil Twomey- 17 votes
    • Rebekah Pfeifer- 11 votes

    * The tie vote was decided by lot per TAAG bylaws

    There were five incumbents and three new candidates on the ballot, vying for a two-year term on the board. Voters could vote for up to five candidates, with the top three seated as directors and the fourth and fifth lowest vote-getters seated as non-voting alternates. Questionnaires completed by those candidates, providing information on their length of residence in Templeton, their background and experience as it relates to the office and what committees interest them, are linked to the candidate names below.


    TAAG meets monthly on the 3rd Thursday of each month at the TCSD Board room starting at 7 p.m. and meetings are open to the public, with time on the agenda for public comment. To learn more about TAAG, residents are encouraged to join the e-mail list by emailing sarah@templetonchamber.com with “Add me to TAAG list” in the subject line.



    About the author: Access Publishing

    Scott Brennan is the publisher of this website and founder of Access Publishing. Connect with him on , Twitter, LinkedIn, or follow his blog.