Templeton Guide|Friday, July 19, 2019
You are here: Home » Top Stories » Legal fireworks permitted in specific areas in SLO County

    Legal fireworks permitted in specific areas in SLO County 

    fireworks in paso robles—With Fourth of July right around the corner, fireworks are often used in celebrations through professional sponsored events or in residential areas. It is important to note that San Luis Obispo County prohibits the use, sale, and possession of fireworks.

    Out of the 295 cities in California that allow the use and sale of fireworks this holiday, there are five cities listed within SLO County, according to Cal Fire:

    • Arroyo Grande
    • Grover Beach
    • Oceano
    • San Miguel
    • Templeton


    Remaining areas in SLO County that are not listed do not allow fireworks of any kind. These above areas allow “Safe and Sane” fireworks, which will have an official seal on the packaging. Explosive and dangerous fireworks, such as firecrackers and bottle rockets, are not permitted. Fines for possessing, selling, or using illegal fireworks is up to $50,000 and a jail sentence of up to a year.

    For more information about fireworks safety, visit readyforwildfire.org.



    About the author: Access Publishing

    Scott Brennan is the publisher of this website and founder of Access Publishing. Connect with him on , Twitter, LinkedIn, or follow his blog.